top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCaelan Jolley

Learning how many languages??

Updated: May 15, 2018

Hi! My name is Caelan Jolley and I'm learning a total of three languages at once.


I'm a 17-year-old boy with a love for languages. Since I was little I always thought it would be cool to be able to speak more than one language. I also loved to learn how things fit together. For me, languages are like puzzles. They're all unique and different but at their base, they're the same. The pieces just fit together differently. Now normally when someone learns a language they only learn one language at a time, but I don't like learning that way. (I get impatient and want to learn everything at once you see) So I decided to learn THREE languages all at the same time. Two for practical use and one for recreational use and curiosity. My two practical languages are Spanish and Portuguese.


Why Spanish?


Because I live in Los Angeles where a significant portion of the population knows it as at least a second language. That's not the only reason why I'm learning it, but I'll save that for my Spanish posts.


OK, that explains why I'm learning Spanish, but why Portuguese?


Easy. I take a martial art called Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and several people in the class (including the instructors and the professor) speak Brazilian Portuguese as their first language. On top of that Spanish and Portuguese are fairly similar due to once being the same language. Those are the practical reasons, but like with Spanish, I have less practical reasons that I'll explain in a post specifically for Portuguese.


OK, so what's the last language?


It's Scottish Gaelic or Gàidhlig. I have always wanted to learn to speak it or Irish Gaelic because I thought the Scottish and Irish were really cool. But I also want to learn it because the language is slowly dying and with it a piece of my ancestors' history and culture. Which is something I refuse to let happen.


Now that I've explained what languages I'm learning and why it's time for me to continue learning them. I'll make another post sometime next week with a progress report and mention some tools I've found that could help you too. Feel free to ask questions in the chat when I'm online. Adiós, habla luego.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Back in action, with the occasional slip-up...

Olá! Como vai? It's been a few months since my last post, which is a giant mistake on my part. I have not been sharing my foreign language learning journey as I wanted to. Instead, I have been "studyi

Lingual mix-up!

I've discovered why learning multiple languages at the same time isn't the best idea in the world. First, it takes lots of time and effort. Second, it slows your progress. Third, code-mixing is incred

bottom of page